top of page

2019 DiRenna Finalists Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The Greater Kansas City Basketball Coaches Association (GKCBCA) along with Dr. James A. DiRenna, Jr. have released the male and female finalists for the 2019 DiRenna Award.

The DiRenna Award, which originated in 1954, is given annually to the most outstanding male and female high school basketball player in the greater Kansas City metropolitan area.

The five male and five female finalists will be recognized and the winners announced as part of the DiRenna All-Star Awards show that will be held on Thursday, April 11 at the College Basketball Experience which is located in downtown Kansas City next to the Sprint Center. This is a private invitation-only event with a reception beginning at 6:00 pm followed by the start of the awards show at 7:00 pm.

In addition to the DiRenna Award, the 2019 DiRenna All-Star Teams will be recognized, the 2019 GKCBCA Hall of Fame class will be inducted and some coaching awards will be presented including the Eddie Ryan Coach of the Year (boys and girls).

The awards show will be broadcast live and available for archive viewing on the digital platform,


(In alphabetical order)


Brionna Budgetts Sr. Lincoln Prep

Sarah Beth Gueldner Sr. Olathe Northwest

Chandler Prater Sr. North Kansas City

Payton Verhulst Soph. Bishop Miege

Alecia Westbrook Sr. Park Hill South


Christian Braun Sr. Blue Valley Northwest

Javaunte Hawkins Sr. Lee’s Summit North

Darrius Hughes Sr. Rockhurst

Tymer Jackson Sr. Olathe North

Spencer Jones Sr. Bishop Miege

About the DiRenna Award

In 1954, Dr. James A. DiRenna, Sr., established the DiRenna Award to annually honor the top male basketball player in the greater Kansas City area. This year marks the 65th anniversary of the award. In 1997, the award also began recognizing the top female player in the area as well.

Dr. DiRenna, who passed away in 1996, was a well-known surgeon, teacher and hospital developer. His son, Dr. James A. DiRenna, Jr., has continued the tradition of this award with the assistance of the Greater Kansas City Basketball Coaches Association.

The award is presented annually at the DiRenna Awards show, which is part of the DiRenna All-Star games.

497 views0 comments
bottom of page