top of page


2018 DIRENNA AWARD FINALISTS ANNOUNCEMENT The 2018 DiRenna Award finalists will be recognized and the winners announced as part of the GKCBCA All-Star Awards Show that will be held on Thursday, April 12th at the Ritz Charles in Overland Park, KS, ( The event will begin at 7:00pm. In addition to the DiRenna Award, the All-Star teams will be recognized, the 2018 Hall of Fame class will be inducted, and several coaching awards including the Eddie Ryan Coach of the Year. The DiRenna Award, which is celebrating its sixty-fourth (64th) anniversary, is given to the most outstanding male and female high school basketball player in the greater Kansas City metropolitan area.


Aiyana Johnson Sr Lee’s Summit North

Chandler Prater Jr. North Kansas City

Sereena Weledji Sr. St. Thomas Aquinas

Alecia Westbrook Jr. Park Hill

South Sydney Wilson Sr. Olathe East


Ochai Agbaji Sr. Oak Park

Christian Bishop Sr. Lee’s Summit West

Damien Daniels Sr. Hogan Prep

Jeremiah Robinson-Earl Jr. Bishop Miege

Jalen Lewis Sr. Liberty

About the DiRenna Award In 1954, Dr. James A. DiRenna established the DiRenna Award to annually honor the top male basketball player in the greater Kansas City area. In 1997, the award also began recognizing the top female player. Dr. DiRenna, who passed away in 1996, was a well-known surgeon, teacher and hospital developer. His son, Dr. James A. DiRenna, Jr., has continued the tradition of this award with the assistance of the Greater Kansas City Basketball Coaches Association (GKCBCA). This award is presented annually at the GKCBA All-Star Awards Show, which is part of the GKCBCA All-Star Challenge.

334 views0 comments
bottom of page