top of page


The 2018 DiRenna Award finalists will be recognized and the winners announced as part of the GKCBCA All-Star Awards Show that will be held on Thursday, April 12th at the Ritz Charles in Overland Park, KS, ( The event will begin at 7:00pm. In addition to the DiRenna Award, the All-Star teams will be recognized, the 2018 Hall of Fame class will be inducted, and several coaching awards including the Eddie Ryan Coach of the Year. The DiRenna Award, which is celebrating its sixty-fourth (64th) anniversary, is given to the most outstanding male and female high school basketball player in the greater Kansas City metropolitan area.



Aiyana Johnson Sr Lee’s Summit North

Chandler Prater Jr. North Kansas City

Sereena Weledji Sr. St. Thomas Aquinas

Alecia Westbrook Jr. Park Hill

South Sydney Wilson Sr. Olathe East


Ochai Agbaji Sr. Oak Park

Christian Bishop Sr. Lee’s Summit West

Damien Daniels Sr. Hogan Prep

Jeremiah Robinson-Earl Jr. Bishop Miege

Jalen Lewis Sr. Liberty



About the DiRenna Award In 1954, Dr. James A. DiRenna established the DiRenna Award to annually honor the top male basketball player in the greater Kansas City area. In 1997, the award also began recognizing the top female player. Dr. DiRenna, who passed away in 1996, was a well-known surgeon, teacher and hospital developer. His son, Dr. James A. DiRenna, Jr., has continued the tradition of this award with the assistance of the Greater Kansas City Basketball Coaches Association (GKCBCA). This award is presented annually at the GKCBA All-Star Awards Show, which is part of the GKCBCA All-Star Challenge.


April 3, 2018


Per Larry House


Friday, April 13th at Avila University


The games will be a Missouri vs. Kansas format featuring some of the top high school senior male and female basketball players from throughout the greater Kansas City area including several DiRenna Award finalists and future DI players.

The doors open at 5:00 p.m. with the women's game beginning at 6:00 p.m. followed by the men's game at approximately 7:45 p.m. In addition to the games, there will be a slam-dunk contest at halftime of the men's game.

Tickets are sold at the door only on the day of the event.  Ticket prices are $5 for students and $10 for adults.  The admission price includes both games.  Plenty of free parking will be available. 

Note:  Rosters may be subject to change


Will Eames Lee’s Summit            

Jalen Lewis Liberty

Christian Bishop Lee’s Summit West

Deng Bol  North Kansas City

Tijani Babikir North Kansas City

Ochai Agbaji Oak Park

Damien Daniels Hogan Prep

Xavier Rhodes Rockhurst

Jamar Madge, Jr. Raytown South

Sevon Witt Raytown South

Ronnie Bell Park Hill 

Jordan Lathon Grandview

Yor Anei  Lee’s Summit West

Mason Taylor Grandview

Diego Bernard St. Joseph Lafayette

Coaches: Rob Heitman, Hogan Prep    Reggie Morris, Grandview


Cooper Kaifes    Mill Valley

Joe Pleasant  Blue Valley Northwest 

Parker Braun  Blue Valley Northwest 

Ezekiel Lopes Bishop Miege

Garret Luinstra Lawrence Free State                    

Luke Waters Olathe Northwest

Tyon Grant Foster Schlagle

Sam Ward Blue Valley Northwest 

Drew Nusbaum St. Thomas Aquinas 

Cameron Southern Shawnee Mission West

Jackson Nicodemus Olathe Northwest

Jalan Robinson Lawrence Free State

Miles Emery Blue Valley North

Doc Covington Piper

Joshua Williams Bonner Springs



Ed Fritz, Blue Valley Northwest                   

Ryan Darst, Shawnee Mission West 

Zach Harsch, Blue Valley Northwest     

Hunter Henry, Shawnee Mission West


Amaya Adams Notre Dame de Sion

Brodi Bryd Truman

Erin Davis Truman

Tiana Gipson Lee’s Summit North

Aiyana Johnson Lee’s Summit North

Kinly Grubb Odessa

Shelby Martinez Raymore-Peculiar 

Antionette Mussorici St. Pius X

Kayel Newland Liberty

Jill Rumpf Mid-Buchanan

Tray Byrd St. Joseph Lafayette 

Callie Schwarzenbach Kearney

Taiya Shelby Park Hill

Cassidy Turner North Kansas City

Kate Walsworth Barstow



Troy Resler, Kearney

Bud Nelson, Odessa

Mindy Gray, Kearney

Randy Florence, Odessa



Sydney Wilson Olathe East

Sereena Weledji St. Thomas Aquinas

Allison Thomas  St. Thomas Aquinas

E’ lease Stafford Lawrence

Sydney Dwyer  Wellsville

Evan Zars Mill Valley

Courtney Harms Bishop Miege

Skylar Washington Gardner Edgerton

Jordann Nachbar Shawnee Mission Northwest

Brooke Lansford Blue Valley West

Mary Goetz St. James Academy

Catherine Szukalski Blue Valley

Abby Ogle Baldwin

Christen Curry Olathe Northwest

Chesney Downing Atchison



Brock Campbell, Wellsville                           

Bob Martin, Baldwin

bottom of page